Thursday, February 7, 2019

Surreal New Year: A Quick Review Of The New EP From Flat Worms

The new EP from Flat Worms, Into The Iris, drops tomorrow on Drag City imprint, God? It is, as one would expect having heard the band's previous releases, fuzzy goodness, rock-and-roll laced with traces of the sides from the pioneers of the acid rock era.

"Surreal New Year" offers up garage rock, while the even rougher "Plastic At Home" mixes that sort of thing up with elements of No Wave stuff. Elsewhere, "Shouting At The Wall" positively roars, while "At The Citadel" whips up bits of The Stooges with faint hints of classic Sonic Youth.

This band knows how to do this kind of thing just right, all the pieces in place with nary a riff wasted. Flat Worms is bassist/vocalist Tim Hellman (Thee Oh Sees), drummer Justin Sullivan (Night Shop), and guitarist/vocalist Will Ivy (Dream Boys), and the band's new EP is out tomorrow via Drag City.

[Photo: David Evanko]